January 16, 2023 — One of the most interesting aspects of Norse mythology is the concept of magic and mysticism. The gods and goddesses of the Norse pantheon are not only powerful beings but also practitioners of magic and wielders of mystical powers.

One form of magic practiced in Norse mythology is seidr. It is a form of magic focused on divination, healing, and fate manipulation. Freya was considered the mistress of seidr; she taught Odin how to practice seidr, powerful magic for gaining knowledge and understanding.

“They are the modern-day keepers of sacred tradition and do not reveal the meaning of the runes to just anyone.”

Another form of Scandinavian sorcery is Galdr, a form of vocal magic for spell-casting and divination that uses sound and words to invoke the power of the gods, goddesses, and nature itself to bring change to the world. The word “galdr” means “to sing” or “to chant” — the sounds of the runes, when spoken or sung, tap into the power of the universe. Galdr is more complex and logical than seidr and can be considered the masculine form of Norse mysticism.

The Elder Futhark contains 24 runes and is the oldest form of the runic “alphabet.”

It is well-known that the runes, particularly the Elder Futhark, strongly connect to magic and mysticism. Each rune holds a specific meaning and purpose, and the true understanding of their use is kept secret by a select group of knowledgeable people.

These rune guardians are shamans, wise men, and wise women. They are the modern-day keepers of the ancient Norse tradition and do not reveal the true meaning of these symbols to just anyone. So far, their knowledge has not been revealed in books or on the internet.

The Elder Futhark is the oldest form of the runic alphabet and is divided into eight rune groups. The division into groups of eight runes is called an Aett, and there are three Aetts in the Elder Futhark.

  • The first Aett is Freyr’s Aett, which contains the runes Fehu, Uruz, Thurisaz, Ansuz, Raido, Kenaz, Gebo, and Wunjo.
  • The second Aett, also known as Hagal’s Aett, contains the runes Hagalaz, Nauthiz, Isa, Jera, Eihwaz, Perthro, Algiz, and Sowilo.
  • The third Aett, also known as the Tyr’s Aett, contains the runes Tiwaz, Berkana, Ehwaz, Mannaz, Laguz, Inguz, Dagaz, and Othala.

Each Aett has a different symbolic or spiritual meaning with its unique energy. The first Aett, Freyr’s Aett, represents the element of fire and Freyr. It represents the energy of creation, manifestation, and abundance. The runes in this Aett are connected to the powers of fertility, wealth, and success.

The second Aett, Hagal’s Aett, is associated with the element of ice and the goddess Hagal. It represents the energy of transformation and change. They are related to the powers of protection, inner strength, and the ability to overcome obstacles.

The third Aett, Tyr’s Aett, is related to Tyr and the air element. It represents the energy of completion and closure. Tyr’s runes are useful in the context of justice, balance, and the ability to make decisions.

Swords were often inscribed with runic symbols, and Tyr was a common inscription. These were believed to imbue the sword with Tyr’s power and protection to make it more effective in battle. The runic symbol for Tyr, called “Tiwaz” is a single vertical line with two horizontal lines crossing it, resembling an arrow. This symbol is often found on swords, other weapons, armor, and even jewelry. The Tiwaz rune would bring victory, protect the warrior and bring honor and justice.

The study of the Elder Futhark, seidr, and galdr is a personal journey of discovery and teaches how to interact with — and understand — the unseen worlds between the realms.